First Year and New Student Programs

Programs Designed to Prepare Students to Succeed in College

Whether you need to take a developmental course to improve your basic reading, writing and math skills to enroll in college-level courses or you need support transitioning to college or both, our programs are designed to help you reach your educational goals. Selecting a program depends on a variety of factors, including your lifestyle, income and academic eligibility. Most of our programs are available at no cost to eligible students. We encourage you to meet with one of our program coordinators to determine which program best fits your needs.

Programs

New Student Orientation
Required for all new students
STARS Summer Program
Prepares recent high school graduates for college
FIRST Scholars Learning Communities
For entry year, full-time students age 17 to 21
Adults in Transition
Provides services for adults resuming their education
Smart Start
Offers courses for college readiness – basic reading, writing, math and study skills

Contact Information

For more information and to set up an appointment to meet with one of our program coordinators, please visit or call our office.

Location and Hours: Student Services Center (SSC), L108, Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Office Phone: For general information about our programs, please call 860-512-3320.
Program Coordinators: To call or email our staff, please use the contact information below.

Jason Scappaticci
Director
First Year and New Student Programs
jscappaticci@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3224

Linda Devlin
STARS Math Coordinator
ldevlin@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3346

Philip Burnham
STARS Writing Coordinator
pburnham@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3345

Latisha Nielsen
STARS Enrollment  Coordinator
lnielsen@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3348

Sou Thammavong
FIRST Scholars Learning Communities Coordinator
sthammavong@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3337

Amanda MacTaggart
FIRST Scholars Learning Communities Coordinator
amactaggart@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3347

Bess Lewis
Adults in Transition Coordinator
blewis@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3343

Brenda Geitz
New Student Orientation Coordinator
Smart Start Program Coordinator
bgeitz@manchestercc.edu
860-512-3325