Audition Information

Audition Dates: 2022-2023 Academic Year

Auditions for Fall 2022 Semester

Monday, June 6, 2022
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Audition Requirements

In compliance with the National Association for Schools of Music (NASM) accrediting standards, students interested in pursuing the college’s Music Studies associate degree program are required to audition with a member of the music faculty to determine their level of instrumental or vocal music proficiency. Auditions are scheduled for 15 minutes, and students will be required to perform, in person, two contrasting compositions.

Audition Specifics

  • Students wishing to matriculate into the Music Studies associate degree program must complete and return the audition application.
  • The audition process is designed to assess a student’s proficiency in the ability to:
    • Read and interpret standard musical notation
    • Produce an acceptable tone quality on one’s instrument or voice
    • Perform with rhythmic clarity and consistency of pulse
    • Perform with acceptable intonation (being in tune)
    • Perform with an understanding of phrasing and style
  • An accompanist will be provided upon request. The student may also bring his/her own.

Note: Students who indicate prior theory instruction may have the option to be tested and receive credit for MUS* B115: Music Theory I.

Contact Information

Deborah A. Simmons, Ed.D.
Program Coordinator
Phone: 860-512-2674

2022-2023 Planned Instrumental and Vocal Auditions

Please contact the individual listed below to obtain specific information about additional  audition requirements, such as types of scales and repertoire styles.  Program Coordinator Dr. Deborah Simmons can provide information for  instruments not found on this list.

Audition Type Contact
Composition Karl Warner, kwarner1@manchestercc.edu
Conducting Carolina Flores, cflores@manchestercc.edu   
Flute/Recorder Barbara Hopkins, bhopkins@manchestercc.edu
Guitar Michael Kevetos-Jazz/PopGuitar, mkevetos@manchestercc.edu
Daniel Salazar-Classical Guitar, dsalazar@manchestercc.edu
Deborah Simmons-Applied Guitar, dsimmons@manchestercc.edu
Double Bass, Bass Guitar (Jazz) Matt Dwonszyk, mdwonszyk@manchestercc.edu 
Low Brasses Benjamin Griffin, bgriffin@manchestercc.edu
Percussion Robert Kennon, rkennon@manchestercc.edu
Piano Carolina Flores, cflores@manchestercc.edu
Barbara Robbins, brobbins@manchestercc.edu
Piano (Jazz) Jen Allen, jallen@manchestercc.edu
Saxophone Mallory Kokus, mkokus@manchestercc.edu
Cliff Schofer-Classical Saxophone, cschofer@manchestercc.edu
Trombone Benjamin Griffin, bgriffin@manchestercc.edu
Trumpet Larry Gareau, lgareau@manchestercc.edu
Violin Emlyn Ngai, engai@manchestercc.edu
Voice Atla DeChamplain, adechamplain@manchestercc.edu
Bridget Scarlato, bscarlato@manchestercc.edu
Luke Scott, lscott@manchestercc.edu
Voice (Jazz) Atla DeChamplain, adechamplain@manchestercc.edu