MCC Students Inducted into International Business Honor Society in Virtual Ceremony

MANCHESTER, Conn. (January 5, 2021) — The Alpha Beta Gamma® international business honor society at Manchester Community College inducted 50 new members in a virtual award ceremony on December 8.

Alpha Beta Gamma inductees must have a GPA of 3.0 and have completed at least 15 credit hours at the institution, with a minimum of 12 credits earned toward a degree.

The MCC chapter’s invited guests at the virtual ceremony were Dr. Fatma Salman, MCC interim dean of academic and student affairs; Dr. Mary Lou Vredenburg, associate dean of faculty; and Kenneth Sanders II ’17,’19,’20, an alumnus of the college’s business programs, who is currently a Pamela J. Craig Scholar at New York University Stern School of Business, where he is working on a bachelor of science degree. Sanders, a native of East Hartford, was guest speaker.

“Alpha Beta Gamma gave me the skills to excel in leadership roles and has given me an opportunity of a lifetime,” he told inductees. “It is up to you to take advantage of this opportunity as the next generation of bright students. Keep going even though I know times are tough. Tough times don’t last, but tough people do.”

Alpha Beta Gamma is an international business honor society established in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students in business curricula. To achieve this goal, Alpha Beta Gamma provides leadership opportunities, forums for the exchange of ideas and the stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Since its founding, over 65,500 students from accredited community, junior and technical colleges have been initiated into the society. Alpha Beta Gamma is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies, and an affiliate member of both the American Association of Community Colleges and the Association of Canadian Community Colleges.

Sanders added, “This is a special year for inductees because it is the 50th anniversary of Alpha Beta Gamma. I am so proud to be a part of this historic moment. But for now, this is your time to shine. Congratulations.”

Here is a list of the new inductees and their home towns:

MCC Alpha Beta Gamma Inductees
Full Name Town
Denise Lois Harrison Bloomfield
Mary E. Michaels Bolton
Kathryn Lawton Columbia
Annunziata Zaccariello Coventry
Christine Reynolds Coventry
Anthony Ortiz East Hartford
Asia Cottingham East Hartford
Christine Marie Lewis East Hartford
Claudia Vanessa Murillo East Hartford
Rolanda R. White East Hartford
Serena Carl Ellington
Nicole StAmand Enfield
Bona Vokaj Glastonbury
Lisa Yee Glastonbury
Angelisse Dones Hartford
Jessie Ellen Kimball Hartford
Kelsie K. Facey Hartford
Tiffany Amandy Palmer Hartford
Cecelia Charron Hebron
Mercedes A. Mikkelson Hebron
Alyssa LaMonde Manchester
Callum Guinan Manchester
Christina Torres-Salas Manchester
Elizabeth M. Baddeley Manchester
Elsa Sanchez Manchester
Eric Brosnan Manchester
Isis Murillo Bravo Manchester
Jillian G. Babin Manchester
Kat Terban Manchester
Mackinly Michael Yorgensen Manchester
Willie Lang Ferrell Manchester
WSofija Gjonbalaj Marlborough
Diandra Davidson New Britain
David Torres Newington
Trieu Thi Tran Newington
Bret Lech Plainville
Elizabeth Pazdziora Rocky Hill
Courtney Ann Johnson South Windsor
Molly Kennedy South Windsor
Stacey Williams Tolland
Lindsey Joan Evelyn Murdock Union
Bryan Bemont Vernon
Caroline Olis Vernon
Jason R. Devin West Hartford
Tiangye Aguilar West Hartford
Dena Chance West Suffield
Allison Lea Cormier Willington
Gregory K. Hawkins Windsor
Stefan Hall Windsor
Kenil Patel Windsor Locks

About Alpha Beta Gamma

Alpha Beta Gamma was founded in 1970 in Manchester, Conn., by a group of business professors. It has grown to an international business honor society established to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students in business curricula. To achieve this goal, Alpha Beta Gamma provides leadership opportunities and forums for the exchange of ideas and the pursuit of continuing academic excellence.