Manchester Community College Students Receive Scholarship Awards

Scholarship Award

Manchester, CT – December 21, 2005 . . . The Manchester Community College Foundation and Manchester Community College Alumni Association awarded students with academic and financial scholarships for the 2005 academic year at a ceremony held on December 14. The MCC Foundation and MCC Alumni Association scholarships are awarded to current full-time or part-time students who demonstrate good academic standing, community service and evidence of financial need.

Denys Snyder of Stafford Springs was awarded the Alden Buker Scholarship and Betty Fry Memorial Scholarship. The Alden Buker Scholarship was established by Helene Buker in memory of her husband Dr. Alden Buker, who was the chair of the Humanities Division at MCC. The Betty Fry Memorial Scholarship was established by Elizabeth Beyrer in memory of her mother Betty Fry. The award is made to a non-traditional female student who has financial need and has performed well academically.

Kai Loundon of East Hartford and J. Ashley Odell of Manchester were awarded the MCC Alumni Association Scholarship.

Carmelo Reyes of Hartfordwas awarded the Thomas J. Godar Scholarship. The Thomas J. Godar Scholarship was established by St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center in honor of Dr. Thomas J. Godar. All recipients of this scholarship are students in the MCC Respiratory Care program.

Luz Chamberlain of Manchester; Shericka Clarke of Hartford; Laila Falkenberg of Manchester; Kristela Kajana of East Hartford; Fiifi Korankye of East Hartford; Daniellia Levy of Hartford; Leslie Manselle of Manchester; Raul Mercado of Hartford; Kim Ngan Nguyen of Manchester; Tracy Poplasky of Hartford; Juan Rivera of Manchester; Adam Waite of South Windsor and Tish Wilson of Hartford were awarded the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving Scholarship. The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving awards scholarships through the MCC Foundation for traditional or non-traditional students who reside in the Greater Hartford area, demonstrate financial need and are matriculated in a degree granting program.

Christine Buckman of Bolton; Tonja Edwards of Newington; Kimberly Frisk of Coventry; Lavina Karunanidhi of Manchester; Johna Keefe of Suffield; Michelle Sevigny of New Britain and Lisa Smith of Windsor were awarded the Manchester Community College Foundation Scholarship.

Leigh-Ann Crick of East Hartford and Ronnie Nadeau of Granby were awarded the Manchester Family Dental Scholarship. The Manchester Family Dental Scholarship was established by Dr. Bradley Daar to be awarded to students who demonstrate academic achievement, are enrolled full-time or part-time, demonstrate financial need and have an interest in the field of health or science.

Leon Jones of Seymour; Sarah Kasica of Manchester; Kristy Merritt of Manchester and Samar Rizvi of Vernon were awarded the Grace E. and Merrill B. Rubinow Scholarship. Established by Merrill B. Rubinow in 2000, the Grace E. and Merrill B Rubinow Scholarship provide awards to students who demonstrate academic achievement, are enrolled at MCC either full-time or part-time, and demonstrate financial need.

Lynda Derosier of Bristol; Anthony Holden of Mansfield Center; Ivelisse Rivera of Manchester and Joseph Walsh of Bolton were awarded the SBM Charitable Foundation, Inc. Scholarship. The SBM Charitable Foundation, Inc. Scholarship was established to assist academically achieving students who have financial need.

Amy Kendallof Manchester; Donald Kendall of Manchester and Michele Kenton of Manchester were awarded the John and Linda Sutherland Scholarship (Cheney Family Fund, Hartford Foundation for Public Giving). The John and Linda Sutherland Scholarship was established by the Cheney Family in honor of Linda and John Sutherland. John Sutherland was a professor of history at Manchester Community College. Scholarships are awarded to students who have financial need, demonstrate academic achievement, and have a history concentration.

Lisa Judge of Vernon was awarded the Thelma Edith Goldsmith-Valentine Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship was established by Cleon Moses in memory of his grandmother. The Thelma Edith Goldsmith-Valentine Memorial scholarship is awarded to students with financial need majoring in business or criminal justice.

Students of any age who possess the desire to pursue higher education are welcome at Manchester Community College. MCC is proud of its academic excellence, new facilities, flexible schedules, small classes, low tuition and faculty with both academic and “real world” credentials. The College offers over 60 programs, transfer options, financial aid and scholarships, as well as access to baccalaureate degrees through guaranteed admissions programs with several universities. MCC is situated on a park-like campus and is easily accessible from I-84.