Student Clubs

If you would like to start a new club or join an existing one, stop by the Office of Student Activities in room L-149 of the Student Services Center or contact T.J. Barber, Director of Student Activities, at 860-512-3283. You can also download a Student Activities Interest Form and bring it to our office in L-149.

NOTICE: The email addresses below are not to be used for solicitation by businesses. They are for official college business and student interaction only. Businesses are to solicit the Office of Student Activities and not student clubs or advisors directly.


Administrative Professionals Club
The purpose of this club is to promote awareness of administrative professionals and serve as a forum for ideas and discussions.
Club email: Admin_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Carla Adams, 860-512-2652, cadams@manchestercc.edu


Alpha Mu Gamma
The purpose of this organization is to recognize achievement in the field of foreign languages. Its goal is to stimulate a desire for linguistic attainment, encourage an interest in the study of foreign languages and foster the understanding of other people.
Club email: AMG_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors:  Linda Burk, 860-512-2684, lburk@manchestercc.edu


Applied Business Concepts
The purpose of this club is to apply business concepts to real-world business situations.
Advisor: Malton Edwards, 860-512-2631, medwards@manchestercc.edu


Arts Club (non-funded)
The MCC Arts Club seeks to form a group of people from various artistic disciplines including those of visual, music, theater, literature, performance, ceramics, etc. that can share their work and promote the arts throughout the community. This will be achieved by holding weekly club meetings, monthly events and various other activities.
Club email: Arts_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Patricia Carrigan, 860-512-2695, PCarrigan@manchestercc.edu and Olivia Chiang, 860-512-2680, ochiang@manchestercc.edu


Ballroom Dance Club
The purpose of this club is to learn the art of ballroom dance for fun and/or competition.
Club email: Ballroom@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: TBD


Bilingual Club
The purpose of this club is to celebrate bilingual students.
Advisor: Alina Ciscel, 860-512-3241, aciscel@manchestercc.edu


Black Student Union
The purpose of this organization is to promote unity and harmony among students of color with all other students, staff, faculty, administration and the greater community. Additionally, the organization seeks to enhance cultural diversity among students and organize social and educational activities.
Club email: BSU_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Robert Turner, 860-512-3328, RTurner@manchestercc.edu


Community
The purpose of this organization is to admit persons to the society as members who embrace the Christian faith, subscribe to its doctrine and accept as truth its religious tenets and teachings.
Club email: Bible_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Albert Kim, 860-512-2797, akim@manchestercc.edu


Computer Repair and Share Club (Student Services Center, SSC L150)
The purpose of this organization is to repair and configure donated computers for distribution to MCC students in need of services and to assist students who need help repairing their computers. All computer services are free of charge. Donations to the club’s fund for services are encouraged but not required.
Club email: Comp_Repair@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Richard Gnall, 860-512-2643, rgnall@manchestercc.edu


Criminal Justice Club
The purpose of the Criminal Justice Club is to provide an opportunity for students interested in criminal justice to learn more about the criminal justice system outside of a classroom.
Club email: CJ_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: David Dubiel, 860-512-2799, DDubiel@manchestercc.edu and Donna Nicholson, 860-512-2756, DNicholson@manchestercc.edu


Dance Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote school spirit and to serve as an avenue for students to express themselves through dance. In the past, the club has participated in community service by performing at nursing homes, teaching dance to Girl Scouts in Hartford and sponsoring a holiday festival for community children during the holiday season. Members of the club have also sponsored talent shows in which MCC students have had the opportunity to showcase their talents.
Club email: Dance_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: TBD


DARC – Drug and Alcohol Recovery Counselors
To educate and increase awareness of addiction issues at Manchester Community College.
Club email: DARC_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Bobbi Fox, 860-512-2769, bfox@manchestercc.edu


Drama Club 
The purpose of this organization is to promote appreciate of drama and the theater as an art form, unite all students with an interest in theater and publicly recognize and highlight drama created by students, faculty, staff and community members. The club coordinates activities such as field trips, guest speakers, charitable events and produces plays each semester. The club also engages students of any major who are looking for an outlet for creative expression, learning and practicing theatrical arts and community service.
Club email: Drama_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: TBD


Education Club
The purpose of the Education Club is to provide a support group for students looking to pursue teaching degrees at four-year institutions after attending MCC.
Club email: Edu_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Paul Edelen, 860-512-2736, pedelen@manchestercc.edu and Sue Van Ness, 860-512-2683, svanness@manchestercc.edu


Gaming and Entertainment Club
The purpose of this club is to provide a fun and comfortable environment for gamers and nerds as well as anime and manga fanatics. Members strive to create a community that is based on a mutual passion for these activities. Our goal is to raise money to attend conventions and host gaming tournaments and similar affairs.
Club email: MAG_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: TBD


Game Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote and play board games.
Club email: Scrabble_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: David Caldwell, 860-512-2689, dcaldwell@manchestercc.edu and Chris Hamelin, 860-512-2725, CHamelin@manchestercc.edu


Green Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote issues concerning the environment and sustainability.
Club email: Green_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: TBD


Habitat for Humanity/Habitat Club
The purpose of this organization is to eliminate poverty housing and homelessness from the world and to make decent shelter a matter of conscience and action. Habitat for Humanity International is a nonprofit, ecumenical Christian housing ministry. Habitat invites people of all backgrounds, races and religions to build houses together in partnership with families in need.
Club email: Habitat_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Kevin Skee, 860-512-3468, kskee@manchestercc.edu

 

Health Careers Club
The purpose of this student club is to explore different career paths within Allied Health.
Advisor: Eileen Roark, 860-512-2775, ERoark@manchestercc.edu


ICE Radio Club (Student Services Center, SSC L147)
The purpose of this organization is to serve, inform, educate and entertain the students, faculty and staff of MCC. The college has its very own radio station right here on campus! Listen to your favorite tunes, catch up on current events and listen to the radio shows of MCC students, faculty and staff. If you would like more information on how to be involved in the radio station, contact the club advisor, Albert Kim. Listen live at www.manchestercc.edu/ice.
Club email: ICEradio@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Albert Kim, 860-512-2797, akim@manchestercc.edu


Le Cercle Francais (French Club)
The purpose of this organization is to promote interest in the study of the French language and culture.
Club email: French_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: TBD


Live Wire Student Newspaper (Student Services Center, SSC L146)
The Live Wire is the college newspaper, managed and published by the students. Each year, seven to eight issues are published. Membership is open to all students.
Club email: Live_Wire@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Stephania Davis, 860-512-2694, sdavis@manchestercc.edu, Live Wire office, 860-512-3290


Manchester Political Union
The purpose of this organization is to promote awareness of important political issues. Activities include voter registration and mock debates.
Club email: MPU_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Angelo Messore, 860-512-2755, amessore@manchestercc.edu


Mathletes
The purpose of this student club is to encourage and advocate a positive interest in math.
Advisor: Paul Edelen, 860-512-2736, pedelen@manchestercc.edu


Music Club
The purpose of this student club is to make music in a social environment, network with other musicians and share the power of music with the greater community.
Advisor: Carolina Flores, 860-512-2640, CFlores@manchestercc.edu


Muslim Student Association
The purpose of this organization is to promote friendly relations between Muslim and non-Muslim students, further present Islam to the people of other faiths and cultures and encourage brotherly bonds among college students and the community.
Club email: MSU_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: TBD


National Society of Black Engineers
The purpose of this organization is to increase the number of culturally responsible black engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community.
Club email: NSBE_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Mehrdad Faezi, 860-512-2729, mfaezi@manchestercc.edu


National Society of Minorities in Hospitality
The purpose of this student club is to provide professional development opportunities for those interested in working in the hospitality industry.
Advisor: William Williams, 860-512-2777, wwilliams@manchestercc.edu


The Newman Club (Catholic Club)
The purpose of this organization is to act as a vehicle for social welfare activities for the community and encourage the spiritual, intellectual and personal growth of its members, in accord with the tenets of the Roman Catholic faith. Our intention is to provide corporal and spiritual works of mercy to the community.
Club email: Newman_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: James Gentile, 860-512-2667, JGentile@manchestercc.edu


Occupational Therapy Assistant Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote and enhance student’s knowledge of the occupational therapy profession by sharing plans and ideas, hosting forums for discussion of relevant and current issues and serving as a centralized source of information and materials that may be used by all members.
Club email: OTA_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Margaret Moriarty, 860-512-2719, mmoriarty@manchestercc.edu


Outdoor Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote interest in the field of outdoor pursuits. Activities include camping, hiking, orienteering, fishing, etc.
Club email: Outdoor_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Kevin Skee, 860-512-3468, kskee@manchestercc.edu


Paralegal Association
The purpose of this organization is to provide a network for interaction between students in the paralegal program and paralegal professionals employed in the field.
Club email: Paralegal_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Mary Holland, 860-512-2632, MHolland@manchestercc.edu


Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
Phi Theta Kappa is an internationally acclaimed honor society recognizing the academic achievement of associate degree students. The purpose of the Alpha Upsilon Alpha chapter is to promote scholarship, develop leadership and service and cultivate fellowship among qualified students at Manchester Community College. To be eligible for an invitation to join, a student must be currently enrolled, have accumulated 12 semester hours earned at MCC, have achieved a minimum GPA of 3.5 and adhere to the college code of conduct.
Club email: PTK_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Patrick Sullivan, 860-512-2669, psullivan@manchestercc.edu and Lucy Hurston, 860-512-2791, lhurston@manchestercc.edu


Physics and Astronomy Club
The purpose of this student club is to enjoy and promote projects involving physics and astronomy.
Advisors: Fatma Salman, 860-512-2743, fsalman@manchestercc.edu, Negussie Tirfessa, 860-512-2731, ntirfessa@manchestercc.edu and Daniel Janczak, 860-512-2724, djanczak@manchestercc.edu


Poetry Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote the awareness of poetry and spoken word as art forms. Activities include poetry readings and open mic nights.
Club email: Poetry_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Jeanine DeRusha, 860-512-2670, jderusha@manchestercc.edu



PRIDE – People Respecting Intimacy and Diversity Everywhere

The purpose of this organization is to support gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex and straight students on campus, organize and promote social activities and educate members and others on campus about GLBTQI issues. All personal issues discussed during meetings, including members’ names and sexual orientation, shall be strictly confidential. No member shall discuss personal information regarding any member, advisor or associate, with non-members or in the presence of non-members.
Club email: PRIDE@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Jason Scappaticci, 860-512-3224, jscappaticci@manchestercc.edu


Radiological Sciences Club
The purpose of this student club is to support students in the radiology program or interested in radiology as a field.
Advisor: Nora Uricchio, 860-512-2730, NUricchio@manchestercc.edu


Science and Engineering Club
The purpose of this organization is to support people interested in pursuing real-life applications of science and engineering. Activities include contests and competitions, engineering projects and field trips.
Club email: SciEng_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Negussie Tirfessa, 860-512-2731, NTirfessa@manchestercc.edu and Steven Moore, 860-512-2653, SMoore@manchestercc.edu


Spanish Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote interest in the study of the Spanish language and Latin culture.
Club email: Spanish_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Linda Burk, 860-512-2684, lburk@manchestercc.edu


VETS – Veterans Empowering Themselves to Succeed
The purpose of this organization is to assist veterans and their dependents in networking and serve as a liaison for the veterans community outside the college.
Club email: VETS_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Bobbi Fox, 860-512-2769, bfox@manchestercc.edu and Nicole Esposito, 860-512-2763, nesposito@manchestercc.edu